Mali, Burkina Faso and Niger announced their immediate withdrawal from the Economic Community of West African States (Ecowas) on January 27. Ecowas, which was formed in 1975, is a regional political and economic union of 15 mainly former British and French colonies located in west Africa.

The withdrawals come as no surprise. Throughout west Africa, there is growing frustration with Ecowas over its struggle to ensure security in the region. Coups have become commonplace and west Africa has seen a dramatic increase in terrorist activity over recent years. 

Click for the full article at The Conversation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *